Your webbrowser is outdated and no longer supported by Microsoft Windows. Please update to a newer browser by downloading one of these free alternatives.

Choosing the right fats for good health

Fat is an important nutrient that is essential for the body. It is part of all body cells and we could not function without it. The idea that all fat is bad is simply incorrect. In fact, including the right type and amount of fat in the diet is important for cardiovascular health. Fat serves many roles in the body such as: supplying essential fatty acids that are part of brain function, helping the body absorb necessary fat-soluble vitamins A, D, E and K, providing insultation for the body, building hormones and maintaining healthy skin and hair.

Choose Healthy Fats More Often

However, not all fats are created equal. According to the Canadian Dietary Guidelines the type of fat consumed is more important than the amount of fat consumed.

Unsaturated fats or ‘healthy’ fats are divided into two groups: monounsaturated and polyunsaturated. There is convincing evidence that lowering the intake of saturated fat by replacing it with monounsaturated or polyunsaturated fat decreases total and LDL-cholesterol. This is important as we know LDL-cholesterol is a well-established risk factor for cardiovascular disease. Here are some examples of food sources to recommend to your clients:

  • Monounsaturated fat: found in olive oil, canola oil, avocados, avocado oil, and nuts (such as almonds, pistachios, cashews, pecans, and hazelnuts). A good source of monounsaturated fats (and polyunsaturated fats) are non-hydrogenated soft margarines that contain these oils.
  • Polyunsaturated fat: found in vegetable oils, such as safflower, canola and corn oil, and non-hydrogenated soft margarines made from these oils. There are two main types of polyunsaturated fat: omega-6 and omega-3. Omega-6 has linoleic acid (LA) widely present in plant oils (such as rapeseed, sunf¬lower and linseed oil) and foods made with plant oils like so¬ft spreads and liquid margarine. Omega-3 polyunsaturated fat is further split into three different types:

- Alpha-linolenic acid (ALA) is found in flax, walnuts, soy, canola oil and non-hydrogenated soft margarines. ALA cannot be produced by the body and therefore must come from the diet; that’s why it is called an “essential” fat.

- Eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and Docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) are found in fatty fish, such as salmon, sardines and trout. EPA and DHA play a role in helping to maintain heart health. However, DHA is also important for proper brain, nerve and eye health for individuals less than two years old.


Saturated fats are found in animal-based foods, such as cream, butter, cheeses, fatty meats, tropical oils and highly processed foods.2 Saturated fat increases LDL-cholesterol. Health Canada recommends that saturated fats should make up less than 10 per cent of total daily calories.2

Trans fats are found in processed foods that contain shortening or partially hydrogenated vegetable oil, such as hard margarines, baked goods and deep-fried foods. They are also found in dairy and animal fat. Trans fats not only raise LDL-cholesterol, but they also lower HDL-cholesterol.

As a means to increase ‘healthy’ fats in the diet, Canada’s Dietary Guidelines encourage a shift to include more plant-based foods in Canadian’s diets.2

Fats and Heart Health

There is a benefit from getting the balance right. Dietary fats are important to heart health – with the type of fat being the most important aspect. As the Canadian Dietary Guidelines recommend, foods that contain mostly unsaturated fat should replace foods that contain mostly saturated fat to promote cardiovascular health.2 In addition, evidence suggests that lowering the intake of saturated fat by replacing it with unsaturated fat (that is, poly- or mono-unsaturated fat) decreases total and LDL-cholesterol.2

Bottom line, fat is an important part of our diet, but important to remind your clients that not all fat is created equal. Empowering them to choose foods with unsaturated fat more often and limiting the amount of foods with saturated and trans-fat is key for their heart health.

References 

  1. Heart and Stroke Foundation. https://www.heartandstroke.ca/get-healthy/healthy-eating/fats-and-oils Sourced June 12, 2020.
  2. Government of Canada. Canada’s Dietary Guidelines. https://food-guide.canada.ca/en/guidelines/section-1-foundation-for-healthy-eating/ Sourced June 12, 2020.
  3. Mensink RP. Effects of saturated fatty acids on serum lipids and lipoproteins: a systematic review and regression analysis. Geneva: World Health Organization; 2016.
  4. National Cholesterol Education Program Expert Panel (NCEP) on Detection, Evaluation, and Treatment of High Blood Cholesterol in Adults (Adult Treatment Panel III). Third report of the National Cholesterol Education Program (NCEP) Expert Panel on Detection, Evaluation, and Treatment of High Blood Cholesterol in Adults (Adult Treatment Panel III) Final report. Circulation. 2002;106(25):3143–421.
  5.  Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). Fats and fatty acids in human nutrition: Report of an expert consultation 2008. Rome, Italy: 2010.

Your webbrowser is outdated and no longer supported by Microsoft Windows. Please update to a newer browser by downloading one of these free alternatives.

CHOISIR LES BONS GRAISSES POUR UNE BONNE SANTÉ

Les matières grasses sont un important nutriment, essentiel pour l’organisme. Présentes dans toutes les cellules du corps, elles sont indispensables à notre fonctionnement. L’idée que toute matière grasse serait mauvaise est tout simplement erronée. En fait, inclure le bon type et la bonne quantité de lipides dans l’alimentation est important pour la santé cardiovasculaire. Les lipides remplissent de nombreuses fonctions dans l’organisme : ils fournissent les acides gras essentiels qui contribuent au bon fonctionnement du cerveau, aident l’organisme à absorber les indispensables vitamines liposolubles A, D, E et K, assurent l’isolation du corps, fabriquent les hormones et favorisent la santé de la peau et des cheveux.

 

Choisissez plus souvent de bons gras

Cependant, toutes les matières grasses ne se valent pas. Selon les Lignes directrices canadiennes en matière d’alimentation, le type de lipides consommés est plus important que la quantité de lipides consommés1 .

Les gras insaturés ou « sains » se divisent en deux groupes : les gras monoinsaturés et les gras polyinsaturés. Il existe des données probantes selon lesquelles le fait de réduire la consommation de gras saturés en les remplaçant par des gras monoinsaturés ou polyinsaturés diminue le cholestérol total et le cholestérol LDL. Il s’agit d’un élément important, car le cholestérol LDL est un facteur de risque de maladie cardiovasculaire bien connu. Voici quelques exemples de sources alimentaires à recommander à vos clients :

  • Gras monoinsaturés : présents dans l’huile d’olive, l’huile de canola, les avocats, l’huile d’avocat et les noix (telles que les amandes, les pistaches, les noix de cajou, les pacanes et les noisettes). Les margarines molles non hydrogénées qui contiennent ces huiles sont une bonne source de gras monoinsaturés (et de gras polyinsaturés).
  • Gras polyinsaturés : on les trouve dans les huiles végétales comme l’huile de carthame, de canola et de maïs, et dans les margarines molles non hydrogénées fabriquées à partir de ces huiles. Il existe deux principaux types de gras polyinsaturés : les oméga-6 et les oméga-3. L’oméga-6 contient de l’acide linoléique (AL) largement présent dans les huiles végétales (comme l’huile de canola, de tournesol et de lin) et dans les aliments à base d’huiles végétales, comme les tartinades et la margarine liquide. Les acides gras polyinsaturés oméga-3 se répartissent en trois types :

- L’acide alpha linolénique (ALA) est présent dans le lin, les noix, le soja, l’huile de canola et les margarines molles non hydrogénées. L’ALA ne peut pas être produit par l’organisme et doit donc provenir de l’alimentation; c’est pourquoi on le qualifie d’acide gras « essentiel ».

- L’acide eicosapentaénoïque (EPA) et l’acide docosahexaénoïque (DHA) sont présents dans les poissons gras tels que le saumon, les sardines et la truite. L’EPA et le DHA jouent un rôle dans le maintien de la santé cardiaque. Cependant, le DHA est également important pour la bonne santé du cerveau, des nerfs et des yeux des enfants de moins de deux ans.

Les gras saturés sont présents dans les aliments d’origine animale, tels que la crème, le beurre, les fromages, les viandes grasses, les huiles tropicales et les aliments hautement transformés2. Les gras saturés augmentent le cholestérol LDL . Selon les recommandations de Santé Canada, les gras saturés devraient représenter moins de 10 % du total des calories quotidiennes2.

Les gras trans se trouvent dans les aliments transformés qui contiennent du shortening ou de l’huile végétale partiellement hydrogénée, comme les margarines dures, les produits de boulangerie et les aliments frits. Ils sont également présents dans les produits laitiers et les graisses animales. Non seulement les acides gras trans accroissent-ils le taux de cholestérol LDL, mais ils réduisent également le taux de cholestérol HDL3.

Afin d’augmenter la quantité de matières grasses « saines » dans l’alimentation, les Lignes directrices canadiennes en matière d’alimentation encouragent les Canadiens à consommer davantage d’aliments d’origine végétale2.

Matières grasses et santé cardiaque

Il y a un avantage à trouver le bon équilibre. Les matières grasses alimentaires sont importantes pour la santé cardiaque, le type de gras étant l’aspect le plus important à prendre en compte. Comme le recommandent les Lignes directrices canadiennes en matière d’alimentation, les aliments qui contiennent principalement des gras insaturés devraient remplacer les aliments qui contiennent principalement des gras saturés afin de favoriser la santé cardiovasculaire2. En outre, des données indiquent que le fait de réduire la consommation de gras saturés en les remplaçant par des gras insaturés (c’est-à-dire des gras poly ou monoinsaturés) diminue le cholestérol total et le cholestérol LDL4.

En somme, les matières grasses constituent une part importante de notre alimentation, mais il est important de rappeler à vos clients que toutes les matières grasses ne se valent pas. Leur donner les moyens de choisir plus souvent des aliments contenant des gras insaturés et de limiter la quantité d’aliments contenant des gras saturés et des gras trans est déterminant pour leur santé cardiaque.

Voici des conseils de santé cardiaque à donner à vos clients.

REFERENCES

  1. Gouvernement du Canada. Lignes directrices canadiennes en matière d’alimentation. 2019. https://guide-alimentaire.canada.ca/fr/directrices/section-1-fondements-saine-alimentation/ Extrait le 12 juin 2020.
  2. Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO). Les matières grasses et les acides gras dans l’alimentation humaine: Rapport d’une consultation d’experts 2008. Rome, Italie : 2010.
  3. Santé Canada. Matières grasses. 2019. https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-canada/services/nutriments/gras.html Extrait le 16 juin 2020.
  4. National Cholesterol Education Program Expert Panel (NCEP) on Detection, Evaluation, and Treatment of High Blood Cholesterol in Adults (Adult Treatment Panel III). Third report of the National Cholesterol Education Program (NCEP) Expert Panel on Detection, Evaluation, and Treatment of High Blood Cholesterol in Adults (Adult Treatment Panel III) Final report. Circulation. 2002;106(25):3143–421.