Your webbrowser is outdated and no longer supported by Microsoft Windows. Please update to a newer browser by downloading one of these free alternatives.

DIFFERENT WAYS TO INCORPORATE PLANT-BASED EATING

Getting started with plant-based eating may seem challenging, but it doesn’t have to involve dramatic changes. For example, starting just one day a week with a “meatless Monday” can help anyone embrace more plant-based foods. Or encouraging a switch from animal-based snacks or less healthy snacks, which are high in saturated fat, sugars or sodium, to a fruit or handful of nuts when afternoon hunger cravings hit.

Canada’s Dietary Guidelines offer detailed recommendations for healthy eating. In general, the Guidelines recommend nutritious foods that are often plant-based, including fruits, vegetables and whole grains. Notably, the Guidelines also recommend both the Mediterranean and DASH diets as ways to embrace healthy eating, as research has found these diets may reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease.

MEDITERRANEAN, NORDIC, FLEXITARIAN AND DASH DIETS

Plant-based diets can vary widely.1,2 Regardless of the type of diet, it is important that it include a wide range of vegetables (including dark green, red, orange and starchy options), fruits (particularly whole fruits), whole grains, protein and healthy fats.

Some people may assume that plant-based eating includes only vegetarian or vegan diets, but there are also diets that recognize specific lifestyle factors and meal planning. For example, the Mediterranean diet follows the basics of plant-based eating, but encourages ingredients like olive oil and perhaps a glass of red wine with dinner, in line with the traditional cooking style of countries on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea.3

The Mediterranean diet centres on:

  • Eating mainly plant-based foods, such as fruits and vegetables, whole grains, legumes and nuts
  • Using olive and canola oil instead of butter
  • Using herbs and spices rather than salt
  • Limiting red meat to no more than a few times each month
  • Eating poultry and fish at least twice a week3

The Mediterranean diet also emphasizes eating with family and friends and getting plenty of exercise.

The Nordic diet is similar to the Mediterranean diet, with the major difference being the source of the plant-based oil. While the Mediterranean diet recommends olive oil, the Nordic diet favours canola oil – easy to find in Canada, since we’re the world’s largest canola producer. Research has found that the Nordic diet can improve the risk profile for people predisposed to cardiovascular disease, by reducing LDL-cholesterol and improving blood pressure levels.5

The flexitarian – or semi-vegetarian – diet, meanwhile, is vegetarian with options, meaning it can include dairy products and eggs with occasional poultry, fish, seafood and meat.6

And finally, the DASH diet, based on the Dietary Approaches to Stopping Hypertension (DASH) study, has been shown to help people manage their blood pressure. In one study, people were given one of three eating plans: a typical North American diet; a typical North American diet with extra vegetables and fruit; or the DASH diet, rich in vegetables, fruit and low-fat dairy but lower in saturated fat, total fat and cholesterol. The people who followed the DASH diet had better reduction in blood pressure than the other diets in the study.7

The DASH diet includes the following servings daily:

  •  Vegetables: 4-5 servings (e.g, 250mL/1 cup raw leafy vegetables, 125mL/½ cup cooked vegetables)
  • Fruit: 4-5 servings (e.g., 1 medium-sized piece of fruit, 63mL/¼ cup dried fruit)
  • Grains (mainly whole grains): 7-8 servings (e.g., 1 slice of bread, 250mL/ 1 cup cereal)
  • Low fat or no-fat dairy foods: 2-3 servings (e.g., 250mL/1 cup milk, 250mL/1 cup yogurt)
  • Lean meats, poultry and fish: 2 servings or less (e.g., 85g/3oz cooked lean meats, poultry without skin, or fish)
  • Nuts, seeds and beans: 4-5 servings per week (e.g., 80 mL/1/3 cup nuts, 30mL/2 tbsp peanut butter, 30 mL/2 tbsp seeds, 125 mL/1/2 cup cooked dry beans or peas)
  • Fats and oils: 2-3 servings (e.g., 5mL/1 tsp soft margarine, 15mL/1 tbsp low-fat mayonnaise 30 mL/2 tbsp light salad dressing 5mL/1 tsp vegetable oil.7

    Getting started with plant-based eating is simple with our easy-to-follow 7-day meal plan.

REFERENCES

  1. Satija A and Hu FB. Plant-based diets and cardiovascular health. Trends in Cardiovascular Medicine 2018;28:437–41. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1050173818300240?via%3Dihub Sourced Dec 5, 2019.
  2. Tuso PJ et al. Nutritional update for physicians: Plant-based diets. Perm J 2013;17(2):61-6. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3662288/ Sourced Dec 5, 2019.
  3. Mayo Clinic. Nutrition and healthy eating. 2017. https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/mediterranean-diet/art-20047801?p=1 Sourced Dec 5, 2019.
  4. Berild A, et al. Recommended Nordic diet and risk markers for cardiovascular disease. Tidsskr Nor Laegeforen 2017;137(10):721-726. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28551971 Sourced Dec 5, 2019.
  5. US Department of Agriculture. Dietary guidelines for Americans 2015-2020. Eighth edition. https://health.gov/dietaryguidelines/2015/guidelines/ Sourced Dec 5, 2019.
  6. Harvard Health Publishing. Harvard Medical School. What is a plant-based diet and why should you try it? 2018. https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/what-is-a-plant-based-diet-and-why-should-you-try-it-2018092614760 Sourced Dec 5, 2019.
  7. Heart and Stroke Foundation. The DASH diet to lower high blood pressure. 2019. https://www.heartandstroke.ca/get-healthy/healthy-eating/dash-diet Sourced Dec 5, 2019.

Your webbrowser is outdated and no longer supported by Microsoft Windows. Please update to a newer browser by downloading one of these free alternatives.

DIFFÉRENTES FAÇONS D’INTÉGRER L’ALIMENTATION VÉGÉTALE

Passer à l’alimentation végétale peut sembler difficile, mais il n’est pas nécessaire de procéder à des changements radicaux. On peut commencer par augmenter sa consommation d’aliments d’origine végétale un seul jour par semaine avec les « lundis sans viande ». On peut aussi troquer les collations contenant des ingrédients d’origine animale ou peu saines car riches en gras saturés, en glucides ou en sodium par un fruit ou une poignée de noix pour apaiser ses fringales de l’après-midi.

Les Lignes directrices canadiennes en matière d’alimentation offrent des recommandations détaillées pour nous aider à bien manger. On y recommande notamment de consommer des aliments nutritifs qui, bien souvent, sont d’origine végétale, comme les fruits, les légumes et les céréales de grains entiers. On y conseille également de suivre le régime méditerranéen ou le régime DASH, deux régimes qui, d’après les études, pourraient réduire le risque de maladies du cœur.

RÉGIMES MÉDITERRANÉEN, NORDIQUE, FLEXITARIEN ET DASH

Les régimes végétaux peuvent varier considérablement de l’un à l’autre1,2. Peu importe celui que vous choisissez, il doit comprendre une grande variété de légumes (notamment des légumes vert foncé, rouges et oranges et des féculents), de fruits (tout particulièrement des fruits entiers), de céréales de grains entiers, de protéines et de bons gras.

On peut penser que l’alimentation végétale se limite aux régimes végétariens ou végétaliens, mais il existe aussi des régimes qui tiennent compte de certains facteurs liés au mode de vie et à la planification des repas. Par exemple, le régime méditerranéen épouse les principes de l’alimentation végétale, mais privilégie la consommation d’ingrédients comme l’huile d’olive, accompagnés parfois d’un verre de vin rouge au souper, conformément à la tradition culinaire des pays du bassin méditerranéen3.

Le régime méditerranéen consiste à:

  • Consommer des aliments surtout d’origine végétale, comme des fruits et légumes, des céréales de grains entiers, des légumineuses et des noix ;
  • Remplacer le beurre par l’huile d’olive et l’huile de canola ;
  • Remplacer le sel par des herbes et des épices ;
  • Consommer de la viande rouge seulement quelques fois par mois ;
  • Consommer de la volaille et du poisson au moins deux fois par semaine3.

Le régime méditerranéen met également l’accent sur le fait de prendre ses repas en famille ou entre amis et de bouger régulièrement.

Le régime nordique est semblable au régime méditerranéen, à ceci près que l’huile d’olive y est remplacée par de l’huile de canola. L’huile de canola est facile à trouver au Canada, puisque nous sommes le plus grand producteur de canola au monde. Les études indiquent que le régime nordique peut améliorer le profil de risque des personnes prédisposées aux maladies du cœur en réduisant le taux de cholestérol LDL et en améliorant la tension artérielle5.

Le régime flexitarien (ou semi-végétarien), quant à lui, est un régime végétarien        « facultatif », c’est-à-dire qu’il peut comprendre des produits laitiers et des œufs, ainsi que de la volaille, de la viande, du poisson et des fruits de mer6.

Enfin, le régime DASH, fondé sur l’étude DASH (Dietary Approaches to Stopping Hypertension), s’est révélé efficace pour aider les gens à réduire leur tension artérielle. Au cours de l’étude, les sujets ont été soumis à l’un des trois régimes alimentaires suivants : une alimentation à valeur nutritive comparable à celle de la plupart des Nord-Américains ; le même régime enrichi de fruits et légumes ; finalement, le régime DASH, riche en fruits et en légumes, riche en produits laitiers allégés et faible en gras saturés, en gras alimentaires totaux et en cholestérol. Résultat : les sujets qui ont suivi le régime DASH ont présenté une baisse de la tension artérielle plus marquée que les autres sujets de l’étud7.

Le régime dash prévoit les portions quotidiennes suivantes :

  • Légumes : de 4 à 5 portions (p. ex., 1 tasse de légumes-feuilles crus, ½ tasse de légumes cuits)
  • Fruits : de 4 à 5 portions (p. ex., 1 fruit de taille moyenne, ¼ tasse de fruits secs)
  • Céréales (principalement de grains entiers) : de 7 à 8 portions (p. ex., 1 tranche de pain, 1 tasse de céréales)
  • Produits laitiers allégés ou sans gras : de 2 à 3 portions (p. ex., 1 tasse de lait, 1 tasse de yogourt)
  • Viandes maigres, volaille et poisson : 2 portions ou moins (p. ex., 3 oz de viande maigre cuite, de volaille sans la peau ou de poisson)
  • Noix, graines et haricots : de 4 à 5 portions par semaine (p. ex., 1/3 tasse de noix, 2 c. à soupe de beurre d’arachide, 2 c. à soupe de graines, ½ tasse de haricots ou de pois secs, cuits)
  • Matières grasses et huiles : de 2 à 3 portions (p. ex., 1 c. à thé de margarine molle, 1 c. à soupe de mayonnaise faible en gras, 2 c. à soupe de vinaigrette légère, 1 c. à thé d’huile végétale) 15
  • Passez à l’alimentation végétale en toute simplicité avec notre plan de repas sur 7 jours facile à suivre7.

Passez à l’alimentation végétale en toute simplicité avec notre plan de repas sur 7 jours facile à suivre.

RÉFÉRENCES

  1. Satija et F. B. Hu. Plant-based diets and cardiovascular health. Trends in Cardiovascular Medicine 2018;28:437-41. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1050173818300240?via%3Dihub Source consultée le 5 decembre 2019.
  2. Tuso P et al. A plant-based diet, atherogenesis, and coronary artery disease prevention. 2015. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4315380/ Source consultée le 5 decembre 2019.
  3. Clinique Mayo. Nutrition and healthy eating. 2017. https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/mediterranean-diet/art-20047801?p=1 Source consultée le 5 decembre 2019.
  4. Berild et coll. Recommended Nordic diet and risk markers for cardiovascular disease. Tidsskr Nor Laegeforen 2017;137(10):721-726. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28551971 Source consultée le 5 decembre 2019.
  5. Ministère de l’Agriculture des États-Unis. Dietary guidelines for Americans 2015-2020 (8e éd.). https://health.gov/dietaryguidelines/2015/guidelines/ Source consultée le 5 decembre 2019.
  6. Harvard Health Publishing. Harvard Medical School. What is a plant-based diet and why should you try it? 2018. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1050173818300240?via%3Dihub Source consultée le 5 decembre 2019.
  7. Fondation des maladies du cœur. Le régime DASH pour une pression artérielle plus saine. 2019. https://www.coeuretavc.ca/vivez-sainement/saine-alimentation/dash-diet Source consultée le 5 decembre 2019.