FREE recipes delivered to your inbox!

Sign up
Your webbrowser is outdated and no longer supported by Microsoft Windows. Please update to a newer browser by downloading one of these free alternatives.
Written by: Rowena Leung, RD

September is a month that is synonymous with celebrating the end of summer and establishing a routine again with back-to-school season in full swing. As autumn solstice quickly approaches near the end of September, many East and Southeast Asian Canadians will also be celebrating Mid-Autumn festival on September 21, 2021.

For East and Southeast Asian Canadians, Mid-Autumn festival is a holiday to gather with family and friends, much like Thanksgiving, and celebrated over a feast filled with foods steeped in tradition and history, mooncakes take a central role at festival time. It’s been said that these sweet treats, with their centuries-old origin, were once used to hide and distribute messages to Ming revolutionaries as a way of getting word to them about the secret plan to end the Mongol Dynasty. But that was 900 years ago.

Today, mooncakes are enjoyed as delicious, delectable and indulgent delicacies. Traditional mooncakes typically had a sweet filling made with, for example, lotus seed paste, sweet bean, and mixed nuts tucked into the center of a tender, chewy or flaky pastry depending on regional tastes and preferences across China. Modern versions of mooncakes have a sticky, chewy mochi-like outside and custard fillings. At the centre of some mooncakes, there may be one or two salted egg yolks which symbolize the moon. This is a nod to the fact that the festival is usually timed around when the moon is at its roundest so that while everyone is dining on delicious food, they can enjoy the sight of the full moon – a symbol of peace, prosperity, and family reunion in Chinese tradition.

As plant-based eating becomes more popular among East and Southeast Asians in Canada, vegan mooncake options that only contain lotus paste without any egg yolk or pork fat are increasingly available.

In addition to mooncakes, the Mid-Autumn Festival is celebrated with traditional dishes prepared using a variety of cooking techniques such as stir-frying, deep frying, steaming, stewing, boiling, roasting and braising and a range of traditional ingredients starting with vegetables like bok choy, napa cabbage or Chinese water spinach. These are options you can consider if you would like to include more traditional ingredients into your plant-based diet, and they are easy to find in most grocery stores in Canada.

Stir fries can be a winning solution incorporating some of these vegetables in a very flavourful way. Stir frying can also include many plant-based proteins you may already know and love like edamame, extra-firm tofu or tempeh, especially beneficial if you are following a plant-based or vegan diet.

Here are 5 vegetables that are commonly used in different Asian cuisine dishes. Consider incorporating these into your plant-based diet for a more unique spin on your daily meals:

1. Lotus Root

Crunchy in texture yet neutral in flavour, lotus root contains fibre, B1 (Thiamin), B6 and folate as well as Vitamin C.1 Lotus root is a vegetable with an Asian heritage that my family has loved using in many of our family dishes, such as soups. Want to see how you can incorporate lotus root into your next stir fry using Becel® Avo Plus Oil? Click here for a handout of delicious Asian recipes for you to try.

2. Taro

Traditionally, taro is a versatile root vegetable predominantly found in Asian cuisine but has since found its way into many heritage dishes around the world. You may wonder what the difference is between the large and small varieties of taro. If you are looking for the meaty texture of root vegetables, your safe bet is to purchase the larger variety. If you are looking for a softer texture, purchase the smaller variety. Taro can be an alternative option to your usual root vegetable choice and contains fibre.2 Your next savoury taro dish or dessert recipe idea featuring taro can be found here.

3. Watermelon seeds

Do you enjoy snacking on nuts and seeds? Don’t forget watermelon seeds as an option. These delicious nuggets contain magnesium, a very important mineral needed in our body.3

4. Wood Ear Mushrooms

If you are a lover of mushrooms, wood ear mushrooms are another variety for you to try and grow to love. These mushrooms usually come dried. After 20-30 minutes of rehydrating in water, the texture will be quite firm and al dente. Neutral in taste, wood ear mushrooms absorb surrounding flavours so they can be a nice addition to your go-to dishes. Find out how to incorporate wood ear mushrooms into your next Asian-inspired meal by checking out my recipes for a lotus root stir fry or steamed chicken thighs with black bean sauce with taro and wood ear mushrooms.

5. Snow Fungus

Are you looking to increase your fibre intake? Consider giving snow fungus a try. This edible mushroom has a jelly-like texture and is typically used in Chinese soups and Chinese desserts but can also be used in savory dishes. Click here for a light dessert soup recipe that is a family favourite in my house.



The next time you catch yourself saying you want to add some new flavours to your usual vegetable ingredient selection, remind yourself of the possibilities you have in creating healthy plant-based dishes using recipes inspired by East and Southeast Asian cuisine. Take the first step today and save this handout that has many Asian cuisine inspired plant-based recipes that I have curated for you to try. Enjoy!

Rowena Leung is a Registered Dietitian and Certified Diabetes Educator who holds a Bachelor of Science (Human Ecology) Honours, Food and Nutrition from Western University. She is the pioneer retail dietitian for Loblaw Companies Ltd. in Toronto, Canada specializing in providing the public with practical nutrition tips. Rowena is currently a member of the 2021 Becel Centre for Heart Health Steering Committee, a team of registered dietitians working to create practical and relevant content, for which she receives an honorarium.

References

  1. Sources: Canadian Nutrient File. 2018. https://food-nutrition.canada.ca/cnf-fce/report-rapport.do. Sourced July 15, 2021.
  2. Canadian Nutrient File. 2018. Nutrient profile (canada.ca) Sourced September 8, 2021.
  3. Canadian Nutrient File. 2018. Nutrient profile (canada.ca). Sourced September 8, 2021.

Recettes GRATUITES dans votre boîte de réception

S'inscrire
Votre navigateur Web est obsolète et n'est plus pris en charge par Microsoft Windows. Passez à un navigateur plus récent en téléchargeant l'une de ces alternatives gratuites.
écrit par: Rowena Leung, Dt.P.

Le mois de septembre marque la fin de l’été et, avec la rentrée scolaire, la reprise des activités habituelles. Mais pour bon nombre de Canadiens et de Canadiennes d’origine est et sud-asiatique, l’approche du solstice d’automne marque aussi les festivités de la mi-automne, qui auront lieu cette année le 21 septembre.

Un peu comme à l’Action de grâce, nous en profitons pour retrouver parents et amis autour d’un généreux festin chargé d’histoire et de tradition, où les gâteaux de lune sont à l’honneur. On raconte que ces gourmandises séculaires recelaient autrefois des instructions secrètes destinées aux révolutionnaires Ming qui ourdissaient la chute de la dynastie mongole. Mais ça, c’était il y a 900 ans.

Aujourd’hui, les gâteaux de lune sont appréciés pour ce qu’ils sont, c’est-à-dire des friandises aussi gourmandes que succulentes. La version traditionnelle se compose d’une pâte tendre, moelleuse ou feuilletée, selon les goûts et les régions de Chine, fourrée au centre d’une garniture sucrée faite, par exemple, de pâte de graines de lotus, de haricots sucrés et de noix mélangées. Dans leur version plus moderne, les gâteaux de lune possèdent un extérieur mou et collant, semblable à un mochi, garni de crème pâtissière. On trouve parfois au centre un ou deux jaunes d’œufs salés qui symbolisent la pleine lune. Il s’agit d’un clin d’œil au fait que la Fête de la mi-automne a lieu généralement lorsque la lune est pleine afin qu’on puisse déguster de bons petits plats tout en admirant ce symbole traditionnel de paix, de prospérité et de retrouvailles familiales.

Bonne nouvelle : il est de plus en plus facile de dénicher des gâteaux de lune végétaliens contenant uniquement de la pâte de lotus, sans gras de porc ni jaune d’œuf, grâce à l’essor de l’alimentation végétale auprès de la communauté canadienne d’origine est et sud-asiatique.

En plus des gâteaux de lune, la Fête de la mi-automne est célébrée autour de plats traditionnels composés d’une variété d’ingrédients – à commencer par des légumes comme le bok choy, le chou nappa et le cresson chinois, qui sont sautés, frits, cuits vapeur, mijotés, bouillis, grillés ou braisés. Si vous cherchez à intégrer davantage d’ingrédients traditionnels à votre menu à base de plantes, ce sont là des aliments faciles à trouver dans la plupart des épiceries canadiennes.

Les sautés peuvent être une excellente façon d’incorporer ces légumes à des plats débordant de saveur. Et vous pouvez y intégrer de nombreuses protéines végétales que vous appréciez sans doute déjà, comme les edamames, le tofu extra-ferme ou le tempeh, qui sont particulièrement bénéfiques pour la santé des personnes végétariennes ou végétaliennes.

Nous avons regroupé ci-dessous cinq légumes couramment utilisés dans différents plats asiatiques. Mettez-les dans l’assiette pour transformer vos repas quotidiens en un véritable festival de saveurs !

1. Racine de lotus

La racine de lotus contient des fibres, de la vitamine B1 (thiamine), de la vitamine B6 et des folates, ainsi que de la vitamine C1, et a une texture croquante et un goût neutre. D’origine asiatique, la racine de lotus est un légume que ma famille se plaît à utiliser dans de nombreux plats comme les soupes. Vous aimeriez savoir comment incorporer de la racine de lotus dans votre prochain sauté cuit dans l’huile Avo Plus de Becel® ? Obtenez notre livret de délicieuses recettes asiatiques pour le découvrir !

2. Taro

On trouvait à l’origine ce légume racine polyvalent surtout dans la cuisine asiatique, mais depuis, il s’est frayé un chemin dans plusieurs plats traditionnels du monde entier. Vous vous demandez peut-être quelle est la différence entre les grandes et les petites variétés de taro. Si vous recherchez la texture charnue des légumes racines, optez pour une variété de grande taille. Mais si vous recherchez au contraire une texture plus tendre, procurez-vous une variété de petite taille. Contenant des fibres2, le taro peut être un substitut intéressant à la plupart des légumes racines que vous avez l’habitude de cuisiner. Vous trouverez ici votre prochaine idée de recette de plat salé ou de dessert à base de taro.

 

3. Pépins de melon d’eau

Les noix et les graines sont l’une de vos grignotines préférées ? Vous craquerez pour les pépins de melon d’eau ! Ces délicieuses petites pépites contiennent du magnésium, l’un des minéraux essentiels au fonctionnement de l’organisme3.

4. Oreille-de-Judas

Si vous raffolez des champignons, les oreilles-de-Judas sont une autre variété à essayer et à cultiver. On les trouve généralement sous forme séchée. Une fois réhydratés de 20 à 30 minutes, ils conservent une texture assez ferme, voire al dente. Comme ces champignons au goût neutre absorbent la saveur des aliments voisins, ils peuvent être un ajout intéressant à vos classiques préférés. Pour savoir comment les incorporer à votre prochain plat d’inspiration asiatique, consultez mes recettes de sauté de racines de lotus et de cuisses de poulet vapeur avec sauce aux haricots noirs, taro et oreilles-de-Judas.

 

5. Trémelle fucus

Vous cherchez à augmenter votre consommation de fibres ? Essayez les trémelles fucus. Ce champignon comestible à la texture gélatineuse est généralement utilisé dans les soupes et les desserts chinois, mais peut aussi entrer dans la composition de plats salés. Découvrez cette soupe dessert légère qui fait sensation dans ma famille.

La prochaine fois que vous chercherez à ajouter de la variété à vos plats de légumes, rappelez-vous les innombrables possibilités que recèlent les plats santé inspirés de la cuisine de l’Asie de l’Est et du Sud-Est. Partez du bon pied dès aujourd’hui en téléchargeant ce livret de recettes à base de plantes inspirées de la cuisine asiatique, sélectionnées spécialement pour vous. Bon appétit !

Rowena Leung est nutritionniste agréée et éducatrice spécialisée en diabète. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en écologie humaine (avec distinction) de la Faculté de nutrition de l’Université Western, elle est la première nutritionniste à travailler pour Les Compagnies Loblaw ltée à Toronto en tant que conseillère en nutrition, et se spécialise auprès du grand public pour prodiguer des conseils pratiques en matière de nutrition. Elle est actuellement membre du comité directeur 2021 du Centre Becel pour la santé du cœur, où elle fait partie d’une équipe de nutritionnistes agréés qui s’emploient à élaborer du contenu toujours utile et intéressant, et pour lequel elle reçoit des honoraires.

Références

  1. Fichier canadien sur les éléments nutritifs, 2018. https://food-nutrition.canada.ca/cnf-fce/report-rapport.do. Source consultée le 15 juillet
  2. Fichier canadien sur les éléments nutritifs, 2018. Profil de l’élément nutritif (canada.ca). Source consultée le 8 septembre 2021.
  3. Fichier canadien sur les éléments nutritifs, 2018. Profil de l’élément nutritif (canada.ca). Source consultée le 8 septembre 2021