FREE recipes delivered to your inbox!

Sign up
Your webbrowser is outdated and no longer supported by Microsoft Windows. Please update to a newer browser by downloading one of these free alternatives.

Written by: Sarah Glinski, Dt.P.

Your gut microbiota is made up of trillions of microbes, including bacteria, archaea, fungi, and viruses. Bacteria in the gut start to develop from the time you’re born. A healthy adult human typically harbours more than 1000 species of bacteria.1 Research into the human gut microbiota has exploded in recent years because it’s thought that these microbes have the potential to significantly impact both health and disease processes.1

By adulthood, your gut microbiota is fairly stable in terms of diversity and number of microbes. Usually, gut bacteria and their human host (i.e., the gut) live in a commensal manner. These commensal bacteria contribute to the immune defense system in the gut by resisting colonization of harmful bacteria and through the production of important metabolites that improve immunity against pathogens, maintain the integrity of the blood-brain barrier, and regulate important functions of the intestine. An imbalance of the gut microbiota is associated with several gastrointestinal conditions, including reflux, peptic ulcers, irritable bowel syndrome, and inflammatory bowel disease.2 For that reason, taking care of our gut microbiota is an important aspect of gut health.

 

How does diet impact good gut microbiota?

Several studies show that long-term dietary patterns can influence both the diversity and function of the gut microbiota and document the connection between the gut microbiota and people following a plant-based diet.2 There are also several compounds found in plant foods that positively contribute to overall gut health. While many people define a plant-based diet as a vegan diet (no animal products consumed), a plant-based diet can also include some animal foods. Rather than being a diet of exclusion, a plant-based diet focuses on how plant foods can be added to the diet to provide health benefits.



Dietary fibre and Polyphenols

Plant-based diets are high in dietary fibre because they include high-fibre foods such as fruits, vegetables, legumes, nuts, seeds, and whole grains. One of the key mechanisms by which a plant-based diet impacts the gut microbiota is through the influence that fibre has on the type, number, and consistency of bacterial species in the gut. Specifically, dietary fibre consumption is associated with an increase in beneficial bacteria like Bifidobacterium and Lactobacillus species. Both species are associated with protection of the gut wall by preventing the growth of pathogenic bacteria.3

In addition, fermentable dietary fibre has also been shown to act as a substrate for gut bacteria metabolism. Through the process of fermentation, metabolites are produced. One type of beneficial metabolites are short chain fatty acids (SCFAs). The SCFA butyrate plays a key role in immune system regulation and maintenance of gut barrier function. It also acts as an energy source for the epithelial cells of the gut, and it’s thought that SCFAs have anti-inflammatory effects in the intestine.2,3

Polyphenols are naturally occurring metabolites found in plant foods such as fruits, seeds, vegetables, tea, and cocoa products.2 Research on the antioxidant and anti-inflammatory effects of polyphenols have been shown to increase the number of beneficial bacteria in your gut, again the Bifidobacterium and Lactobacillus species, while reducing the growth of potentially harmful bacteria.3 In addition to promoting gut health, studies suggested that polyphenols may lower the risk of type 2 diabetes and heart disease, likely due to their anti-inflammatory and blood sugar-lowering effects. However, these are preliminary studies that have mostly been completed in animals, and more research is needed to see whether polyphenols are truly able to reduce the risk of these diseases in humans.4,5


 

How can I help my clients take care of their gut health?

In my clinical practice, I help my clients understand how important the gut microbiota is for gut health and how to take care of it. Nutrition is one of the easiest ways to promote a healthy gut microbiota, with fibre being our gut microbiota’s favourite fuel source. Adults need between 25 (for women) and 38 (for men) grams of fibre daily, but most Canadians are only getting half that amount.6 Following a plant-based diet rich in whole grains, pulses, fruits, vegetables, nuts, and seeds can be an excellent way to help your clients boost fibre intake and provide fuel for their gut microbes.

Polyphenols also act as a fuel source for our gut microbiota. To boost polyphenol intake, suggest clients try including the following plant foods in their diet :

  • Almonds
  • Apples
  • Apricots
  • Black or green tea
  • Black and red currants

 

  • Black beans
  • Blackberries
  • Broccoli
  • Carrots
  • Cherries
  • Dark chocolate

  • Hazelnuts
  • Pecans
  • Spices like cumin, curry powder, cinnamon, and clove
  • Spinach

 

 

Often, foods with bright colours - like red, dark green and purple - tend to be higher in polyphenols. Eat the rainbow to boost your polyphenol intake!7

I hope that this has been a helpful summary of the ways to maintain gut health and how dietary fibre found in plant-based diets contribute to the good bacteria in our guts that help to keep us healthy.

Looking for more? Check out our Gut Health Kick Start Guide  for more tips you can share with your clients on how to take care of their gut microbiota.


Sarah Glinski is a Registered Dietitian and has experience in chronic disease management, digestive disorders, and oncology. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Biology and a Bachelor of Science in Food and Nutrition Sciences. Sarah is currently a member of the 2021 Becel Centre for Heart Health Steering Committee, a team of registered dietitians working to create practical and relevant content, for which she has been compensated by Becel Center for Heart Health.

References

  1. Shreiner, A. B., Kao, J. Y., Young, V. B. 2015. The gut microbiome in health and disease. Curr Opin Gastroenterol. 31(1): 69-75. Sourced June 9, 2021.
  2. Tomova, A., Bukovsky, I., Rembert, E., Yonas, W., Alwarith, J., Barnard, N. D., Kahelova, H. 2019. The Effects of Vegetarian and Vegan Diets on Gut Microbiota. Front Nutr. 2019 (6): 47 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6478664/ Sourced June 7, 2021.
  3. Sakkas, H., et al. 2020. Nutritional Status and the Influence of the Vegan Diet on the Gut Microbiota and Human Health. Medicina (Kaunas). 56(2): 88 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7073751/ Sourced June 7, 2021.
  4. Kim, Y., Keogh, J. B., Clifton, P. M. 2016. Polyphenols and Glycemic Control. Nutrients. 8(1): 17 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4728631/ Sourced June 9, 2021.
  5. Tangney, C., Rasmussen, H. E. 2014. Polyphenols, Inflammation, and Cardiovascular Disease. Curr Atheroscler Rep. 15(5): 324 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3651847/ Sourced June 9, 2021.
  6. Recommended Daily Fibre Intake. Canadian Digestive Health Foundation. https://cdhf.ca/health-lifestyle/recommended-daily-fibre-intake/ Sourced June 9, 2021.
  7. Pérez-Jiménez, J., Neveu, V., Fos, F., Scalbert, A. 2010. Identification of the 100 richest dietary sources of polyphenols: an application of the Phenol-Explorer database. European Journal of Clinical Nutrition. 64(2010): S112-S120. Sourced June 9, 2021.

Recettes GRATUITES dans votre boîte de réception

S'inscrire
Votre navigateur Web est obsolète et n'est plus pris en charge par Microsoft Windows. Passez à un navigateur plus récent en téléchargeant l'une de ces alternatives gratuites.

écrit par: Sarah Glinski, Dt.P.

Le microbiote intestinal abrite des millions et des millions de micro-organismes tels que des bactéries, des archéobactéries, des champignons et des virus. Ce sont plus d’un millier d’espèces qui se développent depuis la naissance et qui logent dans l’intestin de l’adulte en bonne santé1. Or, ces micro-organismes exerceraient une influence déterminante sur la santé et les processus pathologiques1. Pas étonnant que l’on assiste depuis quelques années à une véritable explosion des études sur le sujet !

Le microbiote intestinal d’un adulte contient des micro-organismes en nombre et en variété relativement stables. En temps normal, ces bactéries entretiennent une relation commensale avec leur hôte, l’intestin. Elles empêchent les bactéries néfastes de le coloniser et produisent d’importants métabolites qui améliorent la réponse immunitaire contre les pathogènes, qui préservent l’intégrité de la barrière hématoencéphalique et qui régulent des fonctions intestinales essentielles – autant de moyens qui contribuent à la défense immunitaire. À l’inverse, un déséquilibre du microbiote est associé à des problèmes gastro-intestinaux comme le reflux, les ulcères gastriques, le syndrome du côlon irritable et la maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin2. C’est pourquoi il est primordial de prendre bien soin de son microbiote.

 

En quoi l’alimentation favorise-t-elle la santé du microbiote intestinal ?

Comme le révèlent plusieurs études, l’adoption à long terme de saines habitudes alimentaires peut influencer la diversité et le fonctionnement du microbiote intestinal. Ces études documentent en outre la relation entre le microbiote intestinal et une alimentation à base de plantes2. Les aliments végétaux contiennent en effet plusieurs composés qui contribuent favorablement à la santé générale de l’intestin. Si beaucoup de gens associent alimentation à base de plantes et végétalisme (un régime sans produits d’origine animale), une alimentation à base de plantes peut inclure certains aliments d’origine animale. Loin d’être restrictif, ce type d’alimentation met l’accent sur l’inclusion d’aliments d’origine végétale afin d’en tirer des bienfaits pour la santé.


Fibres alimentaires et polyphénols

L’alimentation à base de plantes contient une abondance d’aliments riches en fibres comme les fruits et légumes, les légumineuses, les noix, les graines et les céréales entières. Et c’est justement dans les fibres que réside l’un des principaux mécanismes qui expliquent les bienfaits de l’alimentation à base de plantes sur le microbiote intestinal. En effet, les fibres influencent la nature, la quantité et la constance des espèces bactériennes présentes dans l’intestin. Plus concrètement, elles sont associées à une augmentation du nombre de bonnes bactéries dans l’intestin, telles que Bifidobacterium et Lactobacillus. Ces deux espèces inhibent en outre la prolifération des bactéries pathogènes3, ce qui contribue à la protection de la paroi intestinale.

Par ailleurs, les fibres fermentables agissent comme milieu de culture propice à la métabolisation des bactéries intestinales. La fermentation est un processus qui entraîne la production de métabolites tels que les acides gras à chaîne courte. L’un de ces acides gras, le butyrate, joue un rôle prépondérant dans la régulation du système immunitaire et le maintien de la barrière intestinale. En plus de fournir de l’énergie aux cellules épithéliales de l’intestin, les acides gras à chaîne courte exercent, croit-on, un effet anti-inflammatoire sur l’intestin2,3.

Parmi les métabolites naturellement présents dans les aliments, on trouve les polyphénols contenus dans les fruits, les graines, les légumes, le thé et les produits du cacao2. Des études sur les effets antioxydants et anti-inflammatoires des polyphénols démontrent que ceux-ci contribuent à accroître la quantité de bonnes bactéries présentes dans l’intestin, telles que Bifidobacterium et Lactobacillus, tout en limitant la prolifération des bactéries potentiellement néfastes3. Et les polyphénols ne feraient pas que favoriser la santé intestinale. Selon certaines études, ils réduiraient également le risque de diabète de type 2 et de maladies cardiovasculaires, sans doute en raison de leurs propriétés anti-inflammatoires et hypoglycémiantes. Ces études préliminaires ayant été réalisées chez l’animal, il faut poursuivre les recherches pour confirmer si les polyphénols peuvent vraiment réduire le risque de ces maladies chez l’humain4,5.



Comment puis-je aider mes clients à prendre soin de leur santé intestinale ?

Dans ma clinique, j’amène mes clients à prendre conscience de l’importance du microbiote intestinal pour la santé et leur donne quelques pistes pour les aider à en prendre soin. L’un des moyens les plus simples réside dans l’alimentation, puisque les fibres sont l’un des alliés de prédilection du microbiote. Malheureusement, la majorité des adultes canadiens ne consomme que la moitié de l’apport quotidien recommandé en fibres, qui est de 25 g chez la femme et de 38 g chez l’homme6. Vos clients peuvent accroître leur consommation de fibres essentielles au microbiote en adoptant une alimentation à base de plantes riche en céréales entières, en légumineuses, en fruits et légumes, en noix et en graines.

Un autre carburant du microbiote se trouve dans les polyphénols. Suggérez à vos clients d’accroître leur consommation de polyphénols en intégrant les aliments suivants à leur alimentation :

  • Amandes
  • Pommes
  • Abricots
  • Thé vert ou noir
  • Groseilles noires ou rouges
  • Haricots noirs
  • Mûres
  • Brocoli
  • Carottes
  • Cerises
  • Chocolat noir
  • Noisettes
  • Pacanes
  • Épices comme le cumin, la poudre de cari, la cannelle et le clou de girofle
  • Épinards

En général, les aliments vivement colorés (rouges, vert foncé et pourpres) contiennent une teneur élevée en polyphénols. Pour faire le plein, mettez un arc-en-ciel de couleurs dans votre assiette7 !

J’espère que ces quelques conseils vous seront utiles pour prendre soin de votre microbiote. J’espère aussi que vous y trouverez des informations éclairantes sur la manière dont l’alimentation à base de plantes peut contribuer au développement des bonnes bactéries intestinales nécessaires à la santé.

Envie d’en savoir plus ? Consultez notre Guide de démarrage sur la santé intestinale pour obtenir d’autres conseils que vous pourrez faire découvrir à vos clients sur la façon de prendre soin de leur microbiote intestinal.


 
Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en biologie et d’un baccalauréat en alimentation et nutrition, Sarah Glinski est nutritionniste agréée spécialisée dans la prise en charge des maladies chroniques, les troubles intestinaux et les soins oncologiques. Elle est actuellement membre du comité directeur du Centre Becel pour la santé du cœur, où elle fait partie d’une équipe de nutritionnistes agréés qui s’emploient à élaborer du contenu toujours utile et intéressant, et pour lequel elle reçoit des honoraires.

Références

  1. Shreiner, A. B., Kao, J. Y., Young, V. B., 2015. « The gut microbiome in health and disease », Curr Opin Gastroenterol. vol. 31, no 1 p. 69-75. Source consultée le 9 juin 2021.
  2. Tomova, A., Bukovsky, I., Rembert, E., Yonas, W., Alwarith, J., Barnard, N. D., Kahelova, H., 2019. « The Effects of Vegetarian and Vegan Diets on Gut Microbiota », Front Nutr. 2019, vol. 6, no 47 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6478664/ Source consultée le 7 juin 2021.
  3. Sakkas, H. et coll., 2020. « Nutritional Status and the Influence of the Vegan Diet on the Gut Microbiota and Human Health », Medicina (Kaunas). vol. 56, no 2, p. 88 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7073751/ Source consultée le 7 juin 2021.
  4. Kim, Y., Keogh, J. B., Clifton, P. M., 2016, « Polyphenols and Glycemic Control », Nutrients, vol. 8, no 1, 17 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4728631/ Source consultée le 9 juin 2021.
  5. Tangney, C., Rasmussen, H. E., 2014, « Polyphenols, Inflammation, and Cardiovascular Disease », Curr Atheroscler Rep., vol. 15, no 5, 324 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3651847/ Source consultée le 9 juin 2021.
  6. « Recommended Daily Fibre Intake », Canadian Digestive Health Foundation. https://cdhf.ca/health-lifestyle/recommended-daily-fibre-intake/ Source consultée le 9 juin 2021.
  7. Pérez-Jiménez, J., Neveu, V., Fos, F., Scalbert, A. 2010, « Identification of the 100 richest dietary sources of polyphenols: an application of the Phenol-Explorer database », European Journal of Clinical Nutrition, vol. 64, 2010, S112-S120. Source consultée le 9 juin 2021.